Jan 19, 2022-Wednesday

select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2022

Maharashtra govt formation Updates: Sena leaders celebrate in Parliament premise

Pro-tem speaker Kalidas Kolambkar administered oath to newly-elected MLAs of Maharashtra in a special session of the assembly on Wednesday.

By HT Correspondent | Updated: Nov 27, 2019 14:01 IST
Maharashtra govt formation Updates: Sena leaders celebrate in Parliament premise
Members of Shiv Sena celebrated in Parliament, Nov 27, 2019.

A special session of Maharshtra assembly was held on Wednesday where the newly-elected MLAs were administered the oath of office. Pro-tem speaker Kalidas Kolambkar administered the oath.

The special assembly session, which began a little after 8am, was called by governor BD Koshyari after the Supreme Court on Tuesday, hearing a petition by the NCP, Sena and Congress, asked him to appoint a pro-tem speaker and ensure all elected members of the House are sworn in on Wednesday itself by 5 pm. The petition had challenged the governor's decision to install a Devendra Fadnavis-led government on November 23.

However, the BJP-led government in Maharashtra collapsed on Tuesday as chief minister Fadnavis admitted his administration didn’t command a majority and resigned, capping 80 dramatic hours in which dissident Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Ajit Pawar broke ranks and took oath as deputy CM, only to find himself unable to muster the required support.

The fall of the four-day-old government came hours after the Supreme Court ordered a floor test by 5pm on Wednesday, and paved the way for an Opposition coalition of the Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress — the Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi — stake claim to power.

Here are the updates:

02:01 PM IST

Sena leaders celebrate in Parliament

Shiv Sena leaders celebrated in Parliament premises on Wednesday, ahead of oath-taking ceremony of Uddhav Thackeray as Maharashtra Chief Minister on 28 November.

01:42 PM IST

Ajit Pawar attends meeting of NCP MLAs

The NCP is holding a meeting of all its MLAs at YB Chavan Centre, Mumbai. NCP leader Ajit Pawar, who joined hands with the BJP last week to form government in Maharashtra but quit it later, also attended the meeting, reports PTI.

01:42 PM IST

Two MLAs couldn't take oath

In the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly, two members - Sudhir Mungantiwar (BJP) and Devendra Bhuyar (Swabhimani Paksh) - did not take oath on Wednesday, news agency PTI reported quoting a Vidhan Bhavan official. These MLAs could not reach the Assembly.

Two other members - Mahesh Baldi (Independent), Mohammed Ismail (AIMIM)- were administered oath in the Speaker's chamber on Wednesday as they arrived after the House was adjourned, legislature secretary Rajendra Bhagwat told PTI.

Ismail arrived late as he got stuck in traffic, while Baldi, the MLA from Uran, was held up as the ferry boat which he boarded to reach Mumbai from Alibaug, broke down, he said.

Pro tem Speaker Kalidas Kolambkar had taken oath on Tuesday after being appointed to the post by Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari.

01:26 PM IST

Oath-taking ceremony of MLAs over

The oath-taking by all except two 288 newly-elected members of Maharashtra assembly, which began a little after 8 am, was completed shortly after noon, with five members reportedly absent. Pro-tem speaker Kalidas Kolambkar administered oath to the MLAs at a special session of the assembly.

12:58 PM IST

Cong leaders Ahmed Patel, Kharge visit Sharad Pawar's residence

Senior Congress leaders Ahmed Patel and Mallikarjun Kharge met NCP Chief Sharad Pawar's residence in Mumbai

12:34 PM IST

'Want to ensure all parts of Maharashtra are represented': Patil

Jayant Patil: "The parties want to ensure all parts of Maharashtra get representation, and uniform development, even the remote parts or underdeveloped part, even Vidharbha, Marathwada. Cabinet composition will be derived accordingly "

12:31 PM IST

'Sharad Pawar, Uddhav Thackeray to decide on ministerial berths': Jayant Patil

Senior NCP leader Jayant Patil, when asked if Ajit Pawar will be inducted in the cabinet, said, "Sharad Pawar, with Uddhav Thackeray will decide who gets ministerial berth. We have invited Sonia Gandhi, Mamata Banerjee, and CMs of many states for the swearing in ceremony of CM of Maharashtra tomorrow."

12:29 PM IST

'BJP shouldn't have taken support of Ajit Pawar': BJP leader Eknath Khadse

Senior BJP leader Eknath Khadse: "My personal opinion is that BJP should not have taken support of Ajit Dada Pawar. He is an accused in the massive irrigation scam and faces many allegations, so we should not have allied with him."

11:52 AM IST

'Have to work with all parties to take Maharashtra forward': Aaditya Thackeray

Aaditya Thackeray, Shiv Sena's Worli MLA, talking to reporters, said, " I am feeling very nice. We are committed to making a new Maharashtra. We have to work with all the parties because we have to take Maharashtra forward. There are so many issues ( to solve), it'll be great to get cooperation from everyone.

11:42 AM IST

'Will say right thing at right time': Fadnavis on allying with Ajit Pawar

Asked by reporters if it was a mistake to ally with Ajit Pawar, former chief minister Devendra Fadnavis said, "I will say the right thing at the right time, don't worry."

11:41 AM IST

'Those who toiled were left behind': BJP leader Eknath Khadse

Senior BJP leader, Eknath Khadse said, "Prakash Mehta, Chandrashekhar Bavankule, Vinod Tawde, and I, even if we were not given a ticket, if they (the party) had taken us with them, BJP would get 20-25 seats more. Those who helped this party succeed were left behind, when we toiled to make this party great. It was my right to walk with BJP. I have toiled for 40-42 years."

11:39 AM IST

'Will accept party's decision': Ajit Pawar

Ajit Pawar says he will accept whatever decision the party (NCP) takes regarding him.

11:30 AM IST

'Have they expelled me? I'm with NCP': Ajit Pawar

Earlier, speaking to reporters about his 'return to NCP', Ajit Pawar said, "I have already said that I was with NCP and I am with NCP. Have they expelled me? Have you heard or read this anywhere? I am still with NCP."

11:28 AM IST

'This is not about ideology anymore': Ashok Chavan on NCP-Sena-Cong alliance

Former Maharashtra CM, Congress' Ashok Chavan, when asked how three diverse parties will stay together for five years, said, "Common Minimum Program (CMP) was not finalised in the dark (of the night). It is well thought out. So there is nothing wrong now. The chief minister will be there for 5 years with our support to him and his support to us. This is not about ideology anymore, it is different from that."

11:25 AM IST

BVA with party forming govt, says party leader Hitendra Thakur

Bahujan Vikas Aghadi's Hitendra Thakur said, "BVA is with the party forming government." The party has MLAs in the present assembly.

First published: Nov 27, 2019 07:51 IST