Jun 17, 2021-Thursday

select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Thursday, Jun 17, 2021

Madhya Pradesh by-poll results 2020: BJP wins 19 of 28 seats, Cong wins other 9

The BJP's tally has now risen to 126 seats in the 230-member Madhya Pradesh assembly, where 116 is the majority mark. The Congress, meanwhile, has taken its number of seats to 96.

By Karan Manral | Updated: Nov 11, 2020 09:35 IST
Madhya Pradesh by-poll results 2020: BJP wins 19 of 28 seats, Cong wins other 9
Representative Image

The BJP registered a big win in the 28-seat Madhya Pradesh by-polls. While the state's ruling party won 19 seats, Congress won the remaining nine

The by-polls were necessitated as 25 Congress lawmakers rebelled against the party’s Kamal Nath-led government in March, resulting in its collapse. They then joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), paving the way for Shivraj Singh Chauhan to return as chief minister for a fourth term.

The lawmakers’ rebellion against the Kamal Nath government had come after Jyotiraditya Scindia left the Congress and joined the BJP.

In order to retain power, the BJP needed to win just nine of the 28 seats on which by-elections were held. In the 230-member Madhya Pradesh assembly the majority mark is 116

Follow all live updates here:

09:31 AM IST

BJP wins bypolls with 19 out of 28 seats; nine seats for Congress

The BJP saves its govt in Madhya Pradesh, winning 19 out of 28 seats in the byelections. The Congress, on the other hand, won the remaining nine seats.

09:29 PM IST

BJP wins 14 seats, Congress on five; counting on in nine

BJP wins 14 seats in MP bypolls, Congress five. Counting still underway in nine seats, with the BJP ahead in five seats and Congress four.

08:40 PM IST

BJP's tally reaches 12 as Congress wins three seats

The BJP has won 12 seats thus far while the Congress has won three. While the latter is leading on seven other seats, the former is ahead on six.

08:25 PM IST

Congress' habit to questions EVMs: Jyotiraditya Scindia

It has become a habit of Congress to deny the people's mandate by questioning credibility of EVMs. If they keep doing so, they'll remain in the same place where they are or maybe worse: Jyotiraditya Scindia

07:43 PM IST

Results prove Kamal Nath and Digvijaya 'traitors': Scindia

I'm a worker of BJP. I'm thankful to the people for giving a clear mandate in favour of the party. Results have proven that Kamal Nath and Digvijaya Singh are the traitors: BJP leader Jyotiraditya Scindia

07:34 PM IST

BJP wins Hatpipliya and Bhander as tally reaches 11

BJP's Manoj Chaudhari and Rakesh Saronia win in Hatpipliya ana Bhander respectively as party's tally reaches 11. Party leading in eight other seats.

06:59 PM IST

BJP wins Bamori seat, tally reaches nine

Mahendra Singh Sisodia defeats Kanhaiyalal Agrawal of Congress by 53,153 votes as BJP's total tally of seats rises to nine.

06:56 PM IST

Result out on 10 seats, counting underway in 18

BJP victorious in nine seats, Congress one. Counting underway in 18 others; BJP leading in 10, Congress in eight.

06:15 PM IST

BJP wins six more seats as tally reaches eight, leading in 11

BJP has won five more seats to take its tally to eight and leads in 11 others. Party candidates win from Ashok Nagar, Mungaoli, Anuppur, Nepanagar, Badnawar and Sanchi.

05:43 PM IST

Congress supporters create ruckus in Indore

Supporters of Congress candidate Premchand Guddu create ruckus & boycott counting in Indiore/

05:07 PM IST

BJP wins in Suwasra seat, ahead in 17 others

BJP wins second seat; Hardeep Singh Dang defeats Congress' Rakesh Patidar by 29,440 votes in Suwasra. Party leading in 17 other seats.

05:03 PM IST

Congress' Ramchandra Dangi wins in Biaora, party leads in six other seats

Congress' Ramchandra Dangi opens party's account by winning Biaora, defeats BJP's Narayansingh Panwar by 12,102 seats. Party leading in six other seats.

04:23 PM IST

Jyotirdaitya Scindia congratulates victors, thanks voters

Jyotiraditya Scindia, who quit the Congress for the BJP in March, congratualates winning candidates and thanks the voters.

04:05 PM IST

First official result of MP bypolls declared, BJP wins Mendhata seat

BJP's Narayan Singh Patel becomes the first official winner in the byelections, as he wins Mendhata seat by defeating Congress' Uttam Pal Singh by 22,129 votes.

03:44 PM IST

EVMs not tamper-proof, selective tampering is done: Digvijaya Singh

As BJP moves towards winning the byelections, senior Congress leader and former CM Digvijaya Singh hints at EVM tampering. "EVMs are not tamper-proof, and selective tampering is done. There are seats that we would have not lost in any circumstance but we did by thousands of votes," ANI quotes Singh as saying.

First published: Nov 10, 2020 07:04 IST