Nov 01, 2020-Sunday

select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Sunday, Nov 01, 2020

Highlights: No decision on curtailing monsoon session yet, says Pralhad Joshi

TMC MP Derek O’Brien was at the forefront of the opposition protests. Later, the opposition parties moved a no confidence motion against Rajya Sabha deputy chairman Harivansh Narayan Singh, accusing him of trying to get the bills passed in haste. Singh was elected last week for a second consecutive term as deputy chairman.

By | Updated: Sep 22, 2020 00:05 IST
Highlights: No decision on curtailing monsoon session yet, says Pralhad Joshi
The Indian parliament building is pictured on the opening day of the parliament session in New Delhi. (Photo: Reuters)

Parliament’s ongoing monsoon session entered its second week on Monday. The two houses had convened on September 14 for the session after being adjourned in March due to the coronavirus pandemic. On Sunday, however, the Rajya Sabha witnessed dramatic scenes as Opposition MPs created a ruckus over the passage of two of the three contentious farm bills by voice vote, claiming that the deputy chairman was violating rules to help the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in passing the bills.

However, six Union ministers, led by defence minister Rajnath Singh addressed a press conference later in the day, condemning the behaviour of the opposition MPs towards the deputy chairman Harivansh Narayan Singh. Rajnath called the ruckus in the Upper House as ‘unfortunate’ and ‘shameful.’ Besides Singh, other Union ministers present at the press conference were Piyush Goyal, Prakash Javadekar, Thawarchand Gehlot, Prahlad Joshi and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.

Follow all the updates here:

08:30 PM IST

8 suspended Rajya Sabha MPs’ protest stretches into the night

The eight members of Parliament (MPs), who were suspended by Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu, have been protesting near the Gandhi statue in the premises.

Read more.

08:28 PM IST

Lok Sabha passes Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Second Amendment) Bill 2020

Lok Sabha passes the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Second Amendment) Bill 2020. The bill was passed by Rajya Sabha on September 19.

05:59 PM IST

Lok Sabha passes the Foreign Contribution (Regulation) Amendment Bill, 2020

Lok Sabha passes amendments to FCRA that seek to make Aadhaar mandatory for NGOs to receive foreign funds.

04:06 PM IST

BSP MP Ritesh Pandey rakes up Vikas Dubey case in Lok Sabha

"Vikas Dubey should've been punished via legal procedure. I urge home minister and law minister to take cognisance of this issue and make efforts to improve the system so that police can't be judge, jury and executioner," says BSP MP Ritesh Pandey.

04:03 PM IST

BSP Lok Sabha MP Ritesh Pandey speaks on custodial deaths

"Incidents of murders in police custody area a threat to civil society and have lowered people's trust in police. Real culprits are not nabbed. Only Dalits, oppressed, OBCs and Muslims are nabbed," says BSP MP Ritesh Pandey

03:06 PM IST

Opposition parties seek time to meet President Kovind

"12 parties have sought time to meet the President over the farm bills passed by the Rajya Sabha without voting yesterday. They have requested him to not give ascent to the bills," says Congress RS MP Shaktisinh Gohil.

02:11 PM IST

Suspended RS MPs protest in Parliament premises

02:10 PM IST

'Condemn this kind of expulsion': Cong's LS leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury

"I condemn this kind of expulsion of the Rajya Sabha members in such a brazen and undemocratic manner. We will protest to restore the status quo," says Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Congress' leader in Lok Sabha.

01:34 PM IST

Parliamentary affairs minister speaks on suspension of MPs

"When the Chairman names a member then that member has to leave the House. Never before a member defied the orders of the Chair. Eight suspended MPs had misbehaved, it was a type of goondaism," says parliamentary affairs minister Pralhad Joshi.

12:37 PM IST

MPs of opposition parties, including suspended MPs, stage protest

12:17 PM IST

Rajya Sabha adjourned till 9am tomorrow

Amid pandemonium, Rajya Sabha adjourned till 9am tomorrow. In the chair, Bhubaneswar Kalita had requested the eight suspended MPs to leave the House.

11:20 AM IST

Amid sloganeering by opposition, Rajya Sabha adjourned till 12pm

In the chair, Bhubaneshwar Kalita adjourns House till 12pm after eight suspended MPs refuse to leave and opposition continues sloganeering.

10:41 AM IST

Congress LS MP gives adjournment motion on 'suppression of farmers' rights'

Congress MP Suresh Kodikunnil gives adjournment motion for discussing the suppression of rights of the farmers of the country.'

10:38 AM IST

The role of Chair was ex-facie 'partisan': TMCP MP Sukhendu Ray

"Amendments of several members for referring the matter to Select Committee were not taken up fo disposal before passing of the farm bill by the so-called voice vote. The role of Chair in this context was ex facie ‘partisan’, unprecedented and unlawful," says TMC MP Sukhendu Shekhar Ray.

09:48 AM IST

No confidence motion against RS deputy chair not admissible: Naidu

First published: Sep 21, 2020 08:26 IST