Sep 26, 2020-Saturday

select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Saturday, Sep 26, 2020
See new updates

Highlights: First phase of Jharkhand polls ends. 63% polling reported till 3 pm

Jharkhand assembly election voting 2019 Live: Voting across 13 seats in the first phase began at 7am and will end at 3pm.

By HT Correspondent | Updated: Nov 30, 2019 18:31 IST
Highlights: First phase of Jharkhand polls ends. 63% polling reported till 3 pm
Congress' Daltonganj candidate KN Tripathi seen with a pistol during voting for first phase of assembly election in Jharkhand, Nov 30, 2019

Voting in 13 constituencies across six districts in the first phase of Jharkhand assembly election is being held on Saturday.

Over 3.7 million electorate are voting to elect their representatives from among 189 candidates including 15 women. Prominent candidates in the fray are BJP nominee and Jharkhand health minister Ramchandra Chandravanshi and Jharkhand PCC president and ex-IPS officer Rameshwar Oraon. Oraon is taking on ex-PCC chief and sitting legislator Sukhdeo Bhagat, after the latter joined the BJP recently.

Seats for which polling is taking place are Chatra, Gumla, Bishunpur, Lohardaga, Manika, Latehar, Panki, Daltonganj, Bishrampur, Chhatarpur, Hussainabad, Garhwa and Bhawanathpur.

In all, 3,906 polling stations have been set up out of which 989 have webcasting facilities, an Election Commission release said. Polling personnel, deputed in remote areas, have been airlifted, EC officials said. A total of 1,097 booths have been declared hyper LWE sensitive, while 461 polling stations are LWE sensitive.

Here are the updates:

08:32 AM IST

Voting continues in 1st phase

Voting continues at a polling booth in a government school in Lohardaga in the first phase of voting for Jharkhand assembly

08:20 AM IST

Voters can complain by dialling 1950

Voters in Jharkhand will be able to register complaints about poll-related issues by dialling 1950, election officials said.

07:49 AM IST

'Appeal to voters of 1st phase to vote in maximum numbers': Amit Shah

Union home minister and BJP president Amit Shah has tweeted, appealing to people to vote in maximum numbers 'to keep Jharkhand free from corruption and Naxalism. " To keep Jharkhand free from corruption and Naxalism and to maintain the pace of development here again a stable, decisive and absolute majority government is necessary. I appeal to all the voters of the first phase to contribute in keeping Jharkhand on the path of development by voting in maximum numbers," Shah said.

07:42 AM IST

Voting underway in Chatra

Voting underway at polling booth number 472 in Chatra in the first phase of assembly election in Jharkhand.

07:31 AM IST

CM Raghubar Das appeals to 'all to vote in large numbers

Jharkhand chief minister Raghubar Das has appealed to voters to vote in large numbers. "I appeal to all to vote in large numbers. Your one vote is important for the development of the state," Das said in a tweet. He also asked first-time voters in the state to vote for 'New Jharkhand' in another tweet.

07:08 AM IST

Voting begins for first phase of polls

Voting for 13 constituencies begins in the first phase of assembly elections in Jharkhand.

06:56 AM IST

Adequate security arrangements made for voters and polling staff

Vinay Kumar Choubey, the chief electoral officer, Jharkhand, said adequate security arrangements have been made for polling. “We have made adequate security arrangements both for electors and polling personnel. A large number of security personnel have been deployed at all polling stations, besides heli-dropping and cluster arrangements have also been ensured,” said Choubey.

06:54 AM IST

Five assembly seats designated as affected by left wing extremism

Of the 13 assembly seats, Chatra, Gumla, Lohardaga, Latehar and Garhwa have been designated by the ministry of home affairs as affected by left wing extremism (LWE).

06:27 AM IST

Voting to begin at 7am

Voting in 13 assembly constituencies in the first phase of election in Jharkhand will begin at 7am

First published: Nov 30, 2019 06:15 IST