Dec 04, 2020-Friday

select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Friday, Dec 04, 2020

Gujarat by-poll results 2020: BJP victorious in all eight seats

The eight seats in Gujarat are among 58 assembly constituencies across 11 states on which by-polls were held on November 3.

By Karan Manral | Updated: Nov 11, 2020 09:28 IST
Gujarat by-poll results 2020: BJP victorious in all eight seats

The BJP has swept by-elections to eight assemblies seats in Gujarat, winning all eight seats where polling took place on November 3.

The eight seats where polling was held are Abdasa, Morbi, Dhari, Karjan, Limbadi as well as the schedule caste (SC)-reserved seat of Gadhada and the scheduled tribe (ST)-reserved seats of Dang and Kaparada.

The by-polls were necessitated after Congress MLAs from these seats resigned in the run-up to the Rajya Sabha elections earlier this year. Five later joined the BJP and have been fielded by the party from their respective constituencies. They are Pradyumnsinh Jadeja (Abdasa), Brijesh Merja (Morbi), JV Kakadiya (Dhari), Akshay Patel (Karjan) and Jitu Chaudhary (Kaprada).

The three others who resigned, didn’t join any party. They are Soma Patel (Limbdi), Mangal Gavit (Dangs) and Pravin Maru (Gadhada).

Follow all live updates here:

07:26 PM IST

BJP's Atmaram Parmar wins in Gadhada, party wins all eight seats

BJP's Atmaram Parmar defeats Congress'Mohanbhai Solanki by 23,295 votes as party sweeps Gujarat bypolls.

07:03 PM IST

BJP 's tally reaches seven with wins in Limbdi and Kaprada

BJP's Kiritsinh Rana and Jitubhai Chaudhari win in Limbdi and Kaprada as party's tally reaches seven. Rana wins by 32,050 votes and Chaudhari by 47,066.

06:40 PM IST

JV Kakadiya winner in Dhari, Vijay Patel in Dangs

JV Kakadiya beats Congress' Suresh Kotadiya by 17,209 votes in Dhari. Vijay Patel defeats Congress' Suryakant Gavit by 47,066 votes in Dangs.

06:23 PM IST

BJP adds Dhari and Dangs, ahead in three other seats

BJP candidates victorious from Dhari and Dangs as well. Party's tally reaches five and it leads in remaining three seats on which counting is still underway.

05:53 PM IST

Congress candidates trailing by 22,595; 60,995 and 47,066 in Gadhada, Dangs and Kaprada

Congress candidates Mohan Solanki, Suryakant Gavit and Babubhai Patel trailing by 22,595; 60,995 and 47,066 votes in Gadhada, Dangs and Kaprada respectively.

05:18 PM IST

Atmaram Parmar, Vijay Patel and Jitu Chaudhari also leading

Atmaram Parmar, Vijay Patel and Jitu Chaudhari leading from Gadhada, Dangs and Kaprada respectively.

05:15 PM IST

Kiritsinh Rana leads in Limbdi, JV Kakadiya in Dhari

Kiritsinh Rana leading in Limbdi by 31,539 votes while JV Kakadiya leading in Dhari by 17,209 votes.

04:26 PM IST

Counting underway in five other seats, BJP leading in all

Counting of votes still going on in five other seats: Limbdi, Dhari, Gadhada, Dangs and Kaprada. BJP ahead in all seats.

04:26 PM IST

BJP victorious in two other seats: Morbi and Karjan

BJP wins Morbi and Gadhada seats as well. Brijesh Merja defeats Congress candidate Jayantilal Patel by 4,649 votes in Morbi. Akshay Patel defeats Congress' Kiritsinh Jadeja by 16,425 votes in Karjan.

03:51 PM IST

BJP's Pradymnsinh Jadeja wins Abdasa by 36,778 votes

BJP's Pradyumnsinh Jadeja, one of five former Congress MLAs who joined the party in March, wins Abdasa by 36,778 votes over Congress' Dr Shantilal Senghani.

03:47 PM IST

CM Rupani celebrates with party workers in Gandhinagar

CM Vijay Rupani celebrates with party workers as latest trends indicate thumping win for the BJP in the byelections.

03:14 PM IST

BJP candidates consolidate lead in all seats

As the BJP continues to lead in all eight constituencies, party candidates have consolidated their respective leads.

02:33 PM IST

CM Vijay Rupani calls Congress a 'sinking ship'

Congress is a sinking ship, they've lost connect with people. Results are against them everywhere. It's a party sans leadership. The bypoll results are trailer of upcoming local polls here: Vijay Rupani

02:04 PM IST

Our candidates aren't just winning, but winning by huge margin: CM Rupani

BJP is winning across the country today. Our candidates aren't just winning, but they're winning by huge margins: CM Vijay Rupani

01:23 PM IST

Trailer for upcoming polls: CM Vijay Rupani

BJP is near to winning all eight seats. This is the trailer for the upcoming elections," says Gujarat CM Vijay Rupani as BJP leads in all eight seats.

First published: Nov 10, 2020 07:35 IST