Jan 05, 2021-Tuesday

select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Jan 05, 2021

Bihar Results : NDA marks comeback with 125 seats, Grand Alliance fails

Bihar Results 2020 Live Updates: BJP and the RJD emerged as the main two contenders in Bihar as Congress and JD(U) failed to put up an impressive show.

By Arpan Rai | Updated: Nov 12, 2020 06:06 IST
Bihar Results : NDA marks comeback with 125 seats, Grand Alliance fails
Celebrations at BJP headquarters in New Delhi (HT Photo: RajkRaj)

Bihar Results 2020 Live Updates: The counting on Tuesday projected a cliffhanger with NDA ally and Mahagathbandhan engaged in a neck-and-neck fight for Bihar. The counting which began at 8am went on throughout the day ensuring adherence to Covid-19 protocols. This was the first election which was held amid the Covid-19 pandemic. Counting amid pandemic would be a delayed process, the Election Commission said earlier. With the number of voters in a booth being capped, there were more booths in three-phase Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 compared to previous elections. So, election officials this time have been tasked to count more EVMs, leading to the delay. Officials have been asked to not rush, the Commission has said. Counting is being held at 55 locations this year, maintaining social distancing.

Early trends kept Tejashwi Yadav-led Mahagathbandhan ahead, but as counting proceeded, the Mahagathbandhan lost a few of its earlier gains and the NDA comfortably reached the majority mark. In the evening, the Mahagathbandhan narrowed the gap.

Among keenly watched constituencies and big-ticket contestants, RJD's Tej Pratap Yadav won Hasanpur Assembly constituency from where he contested for the first time. HAM's Jitan Ram Manjhi won from Imamganj.

A few Congress leaders blamed the NDA for EVM hacking while the RJD accused the Nitish Kumar government of influencing district magistrates to not let Mahagathbandhan's count go beyond 110.

08:08 AM IST

'NDA triumph in Bihar a result of Prime Minister Modi's hard work'

Union ministers including Ravi Shankar Prasad and Ashwini Kumar Choubey credited Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the electoral victory that the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) pulled off in a closely fought Bihar elections, reports ANI.

04:17 AM IST

NDA marks grand comeback with 125 seats

Results for all seats announced. NDA wins 125 seats (BJP 74, JDU 43, VIP 4, HAM 4). Mahagathbandhan wins 110 seats (RJD 75, Congress 19, Left 16) and

AIMIM wins 5, BSP wins 1, LJP wins 1 & Independent wins 1

04:02 AM IST

BJP, JDU secure Bihar bastion comfortably with 126 seats

With counting of votes running till early Wednesday, coalition of NDA comfortably secured the mandate to form a government in Bihar with 126 seats, according to EC's website at 4 am.

02:45 AM IST

239 seats declared, counting still on for 4, says EC

01:07 AM IST

223 seats declared, counting still on for 20, says EC

Results for 223 seats in Bihar have been declared, where as the counting for 20 constituencies is still on, the Election Commission of India said during its press briefing at 1 am.

"VVPAT of 5 booths that are to be taken up for counting, those exercises are going. We hope these will be completed soon," Deputy Election Commissioner Chandrabhushan Kumar said.

The EC further said that the results for Bihar Assembly Election 2020 will most likely be announced in next one hour.

12:30 AM IST

NDA has won again extraordinary trust of people of Bihar, says Ravi Shankar Prasad

Today is a historic day that NDA has won again the extraordinary trust of the people of Bihar. They trusted PM Modi's leadership whose commitment resonated with them that without development of Bihar, development of India will remain incomplete: Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad

11:48 PM IST

Amit Shah claims BJP's victory in Bihar

"Every section of Bihar has once again waved the NDA's developmentism by rejecting hollow politics, casteism and appeasement politics.

This is the victory of the hopes and aspirations of every Bihar," Amit Shah tweeted in Hindi

11:36 PM IST

Election Commission to hold press briefing at 1 am

With votes still being counted in Bihar polls, Election Commission to hold press briefing post midnight.

10:33 PM IST

EC reads out instructions

Existing instruction states 'where margin of victory is less than number of postal ballot papers rejected as invalid at time of counting, rejected postal ballot papers will be mandatorily reverified by returning officer before declaration of result', says Election Commission

"Whenever such verification is done, the entire proceeding should be videographed as per instructions of Election Commission of India (ECI)", says Deputy Election Commissioner Chandrabhushan Kumar.

10:23 PM IST

If needed, will hold another briefing around midnight for final updates: EC

If needed, we will hold a briefing again around midnight for final updates: Deputy Election Commissioner Chandrabhushan Kumar.

10:19 PM IST

Never worked under anybody's pressure, says EC

"Election Commission has never worked under anybody's pressure. All officials and machinery are working sincerely for declaration of Bihar Election Results 2020," says Umesh Sinha, Secretary-General, ECI.

10:10 PM IST

Everything is live on the website, says EC

"Everything is live on the website. One can see results on our website, as we are sure that most people already are," says Election Commission of India on RJD's list of 119 seats and allegations.

"About an hour ago, there was a post by a party on social media claiming that their party has won 119 seats. It is to clearly state that all results are on our portal, total results declared as of now are of 146 seats, that is the factual situation," says Dy Election Commissioner.

10:04 PM IST

Election Commission of India addresses media

Election Commission of India addresses media on election 2020 result updates.

09:15 PM IST

Bihar counting updates: RJD releases list of 119 seats where GA candidates have won but certificates were not given to them

09:12 PM IST

Great moment for us: Owaisi on AIMIM's Bihar result

"It's a great moment for us as people of Bihar have honoured us with so many votes. Our leaders and workers have put a lot of efforts into strengthening our party in Bihar. We will try our best to fulfil the promises made by us," Asaduddin Owaisi said.

First published: Nov 10, 2020 05:33 IST