Dec 04, 2020-Friday

select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Friday, Dec 04, 2020

Bihar Election 2020 updates: 50 seats for NDA in first phase, says Manjhi

Bihar Election 2020 First Phase Voting Today Live Updates: Voting for phase-1 of Bihar Assembly elections 2020 began at 7am on Wednesday and will go on till 6pm. Covid-19 patients will vote in the last hour of the day. Results of the 3-phase election will be announced on November 10.

By | Updated: Oct 29, 2020 07:14 IST
Bihar Election 2020 updates: 50 seats for NDA in first phase, says Manjhi
Security personnel carry Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) ahead of the first phase of Bihar assembly polls in Aurangabad district.

Polling began in seventy-one assembly constituencies of Bihar at 7am on Wednesday in first phase of the state's 3-phase assembly election. Over 1,000 candidates are in the fray for this phase. This election is India's first after the outbreak of coronavirus pandemic in March. The election commission has directed all polling booths to follow Covid-19 guidelines during voting and counting of votes. Election results will be announced on November 10. Click here for full coverage of Bihar Assembly Election 2020

The opposition grand alliance comprising the RJD, Congress, CPI, CPI(M) and CPI(ML) will take on the ruling NDA comprising the JD(U), BJP, Vikassheel Insaan Party and Hindustani Awam Morcha. RJD's Tejashwi Yadav is the opposition Mahagathbandhan's chief ministerial candidate while chief minister and JD(U) president Nitish Kumar will fight for the ruling alliance to keep his post.

Follow all live updates here:

04:20 PM IST

Voter turnout of 46.29% as been recorded till 3 pm

In the first phase of polling in Bihar during the state assembly elections, the voter turnout of 46.29% was recorded at 3 pm.

03:07 PM IST

Amid phase one polling, top leaders address rallies for second phase

Top leaders including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, UP CM Yogi Adityanath, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi addressing rallies in Bihar for second phase of voting on November 3.

02:14 PM IST

NDA will easily win around 50 out of 71 seats in first phase, says ex-Bihar CM Manjhi

Former Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi casts his vote at a polling booth in Gaya. Says that NDA will comfortably win nearly 50 out of 71 seats that have gone to polls in first phase.

01:45 PM IST

33.10% voting in first phase of polling till 1pm

A voter turnout of 33.10% as been recorded till 1pm in the first phase of the Bihar assembly polls.

01:28 PM IST

ITBP jawans help specially-abled and aged voters to reach poll booth

Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) jawans helping specially-abled and aged voters to reach polling booths in Nawada district.

12:48 PM IST

41,689 ballot units deployed in 31,371 polling stations in Bihar: Election Commission

In 31,371 polling stations in Bihar during the first phase of Assembly elections, 41,689 ballot units, 31,371 control units and 31,371 VVPATs have been deployed. As of 10am, 0.18% ballot units, 0.26% control units and 0.53% VVPATs have been replaced: Election Commission of India

12:02 PM IST

Voter turnout of 18.48% registered till 11am

18.48% voter turnout recorded till 11am. 71 of Bihar's 243 assembly constituencies voting today.

11:37 AM IST

Election Commission orders FIR against Bihar minister Prem Kumar

The Election Commission has ordered registration of an FIR against BJP leader and Bihar agriculture minister Prem Kumar for casting his vote wearing a mask with his party's symbol on it.

11:11 AM IST

Voters of Balgudar village in Lakhisarai district boycott elections

Voters in Balgudar village in Bihar;s Lakhisarai district boycott elections as booth number 115 wears deserted look. "Villagers are not voting as they're protesting against the construction of a museum on a playground," says presiding officer.

10:58 AM IST

Heart attack claims polling agent's life in Nawada

A polling agent ,identified as Krishna Singh, dies due to heart attack at Phulma booth in Hisua assembly segment in Nawada district.

10:54 AM IST

65-year-old voter dies while standing in queue in Sasaram

65-year-old voter, identified as, Heera Mahto, reportedly died after getting unconscious while standing in a queue at a polling station in Sasaram assembly seat.

10:42 AM IST

Bihar minister and BJP leader arrives to vote wearing mask

Bihar agriculture minister and BJP leader Prem Kumar arrives wearing a mask to cast his vote.

10:17 AM IST

6.74% voting till 9am in 37 of 71 constituencies in seven districts

Total voting at 6.74% in 37 out of 71 constituencies till 9am. Seats spread across seven districts: Rohtas (6.52%), Arwal (5.10%), Jahanabad (6.33%), Aurangabad (11.47%), Gaya (7.01%), Nawada (7.67%) and Jamui (6.32%).

10:00 AM IST

BJP Jamui candidate Shreyasi Singh casts vote

BJP's candidate from Jamui, international shooter Shreyasi Singh, casts vote.

09:24 AM IST

5% voter turnout till 8am, reports ANI

News agency ANI reports a voter turnout of 8% till 8am in the first phase of the Bihar Assembly polls.

First published: Oct 28, 2020 05:50 IST