Dec 04, 2020-Friday

select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Friday, Dec 04, 2020

LIVE: Term of 2 Bihar ministers in Nitish Kumar Cabinet ends

The counting of votes and the results of the Bihar assembly election will be declared on November 10.

By | Updated: Nov 06, 2020 19:34 IST
LIVE: Term of 2 Bihar ministers in Nitish Kumar Cabinet ends

A total of 2,35,54,071 voters will exercise their franchise on November 7 as Bihar goes to its third and final phase of election to decide the fate of remaining 78 seats in 16 districts. The counting of votes and the results of the Bihar assembly election will be declared on November 10.

There are 1,23,25,780 male voters, while 1,12,05,378 women and 894 third gender voters in the general category. Altogether there are 22,019 service voters. The Rashtriya Janata Dal has the maximum number of 46 candidates, followed by the Lok Janshakti Party at 42. The Janata Dal (United) has fielded candidates on 37 seats, Bharatiya Janata Party on 35, Nationalist Congress Party 31, Congress 25, Rashtriya Lok Samta Party 23, Bahujan Samaj Party 19, Communist Party of India on two seats and the National People's Party on one seat.

Click here for complete coverage of the Bihar Assembly Election 2020

Ahead of the third and final phase of Bihar assembly elections on Saturday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has written an open letter to the people of the state. He said that Bihar needs Nitish Kumar government to ensure development in the state. "Reforms not possible amid mismanagement, anarchy; Nitish Kumar govt needed in Bihar to ensure development schemes continue uninterrupted," he said.

Follow live updates here:

07:34 PM IST

CPI lawmaker writes to ECI about inaction on poll code violation by PM Modi

Binoy Viswam, the lawmaker from the Communist Party of India, has written to chief election commissioner Sunil Arora criticising the Election Commission of India. He had complained against Prime Minister Narendra Modi's alleged poll code violation. Viswam had referred to the ECI about the newsletter sent from the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) asking for monetary donations to the BJP. In his letter, Viswam has also said that the commission's inaction is equal to 'obfuscating their mandate' and urged for swift action, reported PTI.

07:06 PM IST

Nitish does not have retirement on his mind, asserts his party JD(U) officials reassert that retirement not in Nitish Kumar's mind

After Bihar CM Nitish Kumar said that this year's assembly election would be his last elections, official voices from his JD(U) party have denied that the CM has retirement in his mind.

The opposition, especially leaders like RJD's Tejashwi Yadav and LJP's Chirag Paswan, jumped right away on Kumar's comments and said that he had conceded defeat and accepted his failure.

However, head of JD(U) state unit Vashishta Narayan Singh and state minister Sanjay Kumar Jha have openly rejected all such claims by the opposition, as reported by news agency PTI.

12:21 PM IST

Term of 2 Bihar ministers in Nitish Kumar Cabinet ends

The tenure of Neeraj Kumar, minister for information and public relations (IPR) and also the spokesperson for the ruling Janata Dal (United), and Ashok Choudhary, minister for building construction and also the working president of the JD-U, ended on Friday.

09:42 AM IST

Hayaghat Independent candidate shot at before third phase polls

Former JD (U) leader Ravindra Nath alias Chintu Singh, who is contesting the assembly election from Hayaghat seat as Independent candidate, was shot at in Bairi-Thakopur locality under Baheri police station area in Darbhanga district late on Thursday.

08:59 AM IST

5 constituencies will decide the fate of AIMIM, LJP and JAP-L

Ahead of third phase of polls tomorrow, all eyes are on five assembly constituencies in Seemanchal and Kosi where three smaller parties namely AIMIM ( All India Muslim Majlis Ittehadul Muslimeen), Lok Janshakti Party ( LJP) and Jan Adhikar Party- Loktantrik are betting high to register their presence to improve their political stocks.

06:30 AM IST

Rahul Gandhi promises ‘Naya Bihar’ ahead of final-phase polling

Ahead of the last phase of assembly elections in Bihar, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi promised on Thursday that a grand-alliance government will create “Naya Bihar” by bringing in industry, ensuring employment, waiving farm loans, reducing electricity tariff by half, and providing free education and justice to girls.

06:29 AM IST

Rahul's 'MVM' comment is acknowledgment of defeat: Giriraj Singh

Union Minister Giriraj Singh has said that Congress leader Rahul Gandhi terming the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) as Modi Voting Machine (MVM) is an acknowledgment of defeat. "I can say it as a challenge that this time the Modi 'jinn' will come out of the EVM in Bihar. Rahul's comment about the 'MVM' is an acknowledgment of defeat. This 'jinn' is the blessings of the poor people," said Singh.

First published: Nov 06, 2020 06:12 IST